I owe this sweet little number to the bright, happy things in half-empty containers that littered my fridge: straggling berries at the brink of overripeness; a scrap of jam I was saving for a small piece of toast (or midnight graham cracker dunk); a half-empty can of coconut milk. I hate throwing food away, not only because I find it wasteful, but also because I feel that by doing so, I have given up on its potential. (Example: this Banana Ice Cream.) I have good news for you, lonely spoonful of jam and orphan coconut milk. Your future is bright and will involve this berry coconut frozen yogurt recipe! A few weeks ago, I checked out the ice cream Bible from the library, and in it, author David Lebovitz mentions that he often uses ice cream as a vehicle for the excess dessert bits he has strewn about his kitchen from the week’s assorted baking projects. Brilliant! I often top my leftover One Bowl Brownies with ice cream, but for some reason, the idea that I could put them in the ice cream itself never occurred to me. I decided to apply David’s “turn it into ice cream” principle to the sweet leftovers in my fridge, and oh my–I may never do another thing with them again.

How to Make Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt

My little ice cream (or in today’s case, frozen yogurt) experiment demonstrates that coconut milk pureed with Greek yogurt, jam, and leftover berries creates a perfect, 30-second custard. (Pssst…did you know you can also make Avocado Ice Cream?)

The Ingredients

Coconut Milk. My swap for regular cow’s milk keeps this homemade frozen yogurt creamy while infusing it with delicious coconut flavor. (I’ve also swapped cow’s milk for oat milk to make Oat Milk Ice Cream too.)Greek Yogurt. Makes the frozen yogurt tangy and creamy while adding additional protein compared to regular yogurt. (It’s also my key to these Berry Parfait Yogurt Popsicles).Raspberry Jam. Adds sweetness and some concentrated fruit flavor.Strawberries + Raspberries. Pack in the vitamin C along with a blast of fruity flavor and vibrant pink color. (For another berry-licious frozen treat, try this Rhubarb Swirl Buttermilk Ice Cream).Honey. For a kiss of natural sweetness that cuts through the tartness of the berries.Toasted Coconut Flakes. Make the coconut flavor shine and add some contrasting texture.Coconut Rum. A few tablespoons of booze helps keep the frozen yogurt soft (alcohol has a lower freezing point). Plus, coconut rum. Tropics, here we come!

The Directions

Don’t have an ice cream maker? You can still make Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt! Try this method from King David himself. Dear leftover Vegan Caramel Sauce, I suspect you’ll become my next homemade frozen yogurt experiment. (Or you’ll end up in this Whiskey Ice Cream).

Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt  Made with Greek Yogurt    WellPlated com - 86Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt  Made with Greek Yogurt    WellPlated com - 40Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt  Made with Greek Yogurt    WellPlated com - 65Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt  Made with Greek Yogurt    WellPlated com - 98Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt  Made with Greek Yogurt    WellPlated com - 62Berry Coconut Frozen Yogurt  Made with Greek Yogurt    WellPlated com - 25