Oh Snapchat, the Girl Scouts did not prepare me for you. Last Friday, I lured you all to follow me on Snapchat (WellPlated) with promises of seeing Blueberry Pie Smoothies in action and footage so embarrassing, my younger sister texted me to inform me that she needed to give me a Snapchat lesson. As it turns out, no one could follow me until Monday night, when I realized my settings had my username hidden. Oops. I’ve fixed that little issue (apologies everyone), so feel free to scope it out and let me know if my sister is right, which, as she will tell you, she usually is. Although my troop leaders could not have foreseen my need to master social media (where is the Twitter badge?), Girl Scouts did teach me a lasting lesson I’ve carried into adulthood: how to prepare scrumptious campfire food with few ingredients.

I have incredibly fond memories of Girl Scout campfire dinners, which consisted of recipes and techniques that, when named out of context, don’t sound like actual foods at all: “moose lips” and “pie irons” and “banana boats.” Today’s easy camping recipe was my favorite main dish.

About These Ham and Pineapple Sliders

A pillowy potato bun spread with Dijon mustard, then layered with deli ham, a pineapple ring, and gooey cheddar cheese, it’s both simple and satisfying. We’d assemble the campfire sandwiches, wrap them completely in foil, then set them as close to the flames as we dared, until the pineapple became hot and caramelized, the cheese oozy, and the bread majestically warm and soft. Although these ham and pineapple sandwiches were my camping foil-packet favorite, no fire is necessary to enjoy them. If you like, you can assemble the sandwiches just as if you were in the great outdoors, then cook them in the oven, and a charcoal or gas grill is an excellent option too. Camping is not yet on our summer agenda, but I’m glad these memory-filled sandwiches have at least made it to our dinner table. Maybe we can pitch our tent—a cozy little number sized for two (according to the box), or one + a second beagle-sized occupant (according to reality)—in the backyard and have a campfire meal just the same. Banana boats for dessert.

How to Store Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

To Store. Place leftover sandwiches in an airtight storage container in the refrigerator for up to 2 days. These sandwiches are delicious at room temperature, but you can also gently reheat them.

More Easy Sandwich Recipes

Chickpea Salad Sandwich Greek Crock Pot Sloppy Joes BLT Grilled Cheese Avocado Egg Salad Cheesy French Onion Chicken Sandwiches

 

Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 54Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 33Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 91Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 82Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 9Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 89Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 91Campfire Recipe  Ham and Pineapple Sandwiches    WellPlated com - 9