Summer is one of the easiest times of year for low carb recipes. Between fresh grilled meats, juicy burgers (either bunless or on low carb hamburger buns), and simple salads (like a creamy cucumber salad for a side or a healthy taco salad as a meal), there are many delicious options to choose from. Best of all, many of these foods will please everyone – even if they are not eating low carb. I didn’t necessarily expect this cauliflower potato salad recipe to be one of those. To my surprise, it was! Even before I made this paleo low carb potato salad, I already knew that cauliflower often makes a decent stand-in for potatoes. (Cauliflower hash browns and mashed cauliflower are some of my favorite low carb side dishes.) Still, I wasn’t sure that it would work in potato salad. It does!

I was surprised at how similar this cauliflower potato salad tastes like a “real” potato salad! Apparently, the dressing is what really makes the dish. The cauliflower taste is actually quite mild, and the texture is very much like regular potato salad. The key is cooking the cauliflower to the same softness as cooked potatoes would be. Make sure your florets are very small, too. Other than the cauliflower, this low carb potato salad is just like the one you’re probably used to. It has the classic add-ins of hard boiled eggs, celery, and onions. The dressing is your typical mayonnaise base with mustard, vinegar (apple cider to keep it paleo!), and spices. So simple, and so good. And, you’ll love that you can get all the same flavors without the carbs.

Being able to make a low carb mock potato salad that everyone will eat makes my life so much easier! I don’t know about you, but I prefer not to cook separate things for myself and others. At my house, we all eat together and we all eat the same thing. I know this principle doesn’t work for everyone, and many of you have told me that you struggle with pleasing picky eaters. If this is you, I hope you’ll still give this cauliflower potato salad a try. In my experience, just like my keto broccoli salad with bacon, it has been a hit with everyone at larger gatherings, too. That’s usually a good indication! I’ve made this low carb cauliflower potato salad several times this summer already. Two of those times were for my Russian carb-loving extended family and friends. (And if you didn’t know, Russians love their potato salads. Granted, the Russian version, called Olivier Salad, is quite different. I’ll probably post it at some point, but they loved this one, too.) On both occasions, this was the first dish that was gone. That, right there, is a reason to try it.  

Cookware set – This cookware set is professional grade and has the perfect sized pot to cook your cauliflower for this recipe. You will love this cookware set. Measuring spoons – These measuring spoons nest for easy storage. I use these all the time. Large mixing bowl – Serve your cauliflower potato salad in this large glass bowl.

This reader favorite recipe is included in The Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Cookbook! Order your copy to get 100 easy keto recipes in a beautiful print hardcover book, including 80 exclusive recipes not found anywhere else (not even this blog!), my complete fathead dough guide, the primer for starting keto, and much more. ORDER THE EASY KETO COOKBOOK HERE Stove method: Boil a pot of water with a tablespoon of salt. Add the cauliflower, and simmer until very tender (about 5 minutes). Drain well. Microwave method: Place the cauliflower florets in a large bowl with 2 tablespoons (30 mL) of water. Microwave on high for 10 minutes, stirring halfway through. Drain well. Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it! Recipe from The Easy Keto Cookbook.