I first started baking these amped-up ginger cookies in my early 20s for an annual girls’ cookie exchange my coworker Megan and I started. Newcomers to town, we surmised that an excellent way to expand our friend network would be to lure prospective candidates over with promises of chocolate, butter, and Spiced Wine. It worked. We hosted the exchange every year we lived in the same city. While we changed up the cookie assortment each year, these Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies were our annual, iron-clad must make. It’s been almost a decade (!) since I first tasted these Chocolate Ginger Cookies, and my Christmas still doesn’t feel complete without them (and Perfect Cream Cheese Cookies too). I’ve baked them for my sisters, girlfriends, and neighbors. When I receive requests for a recommendation for a stellar cookie to bring to a cookie exchange, this is the recipe I send. Everyone who tries these Chocolate Ginger Cookies loves them. They are special. With only one week to go until Christmas (when did that happen?) today feels like the right time to share this treasure from my cache of cookie recipes. If you love warm spices, chocolate, and cozy, fuzzy feelings that make you want to cuddle around a Christmas tree, I know they’ll be a fast favorite of yours too!

The Very Best Chocolate Ginger Cookies

These Chocolate Ginger Cookies are triumphantly thick, chewy, and their spice level is spectacular. In addition to a heavy dose of classic gingerbread spices such as cinnamon and cloves, this Chocolate Ginger Cookies recipe uses fresh ginger, which I am convinced is what makes them unquestionably superior to any other ginger molasses cookie in the cosmos. Every bite is filled with the warmth and comfort of a crackling fire on a chilly day. The big chunks of melty dark chocolate certainly don’t hurt their superiority level either.

In case you need further endorsement, these Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies are approved by Martha Stewart herself. They’re the cover recipe of her exclusively cookie cookbook, Martha Stewart’s Cookies. I’ve added my own recipe twist by swapping a portion of the regular flour for white whole wheat flour to give them a little nutritional boost. While I can’t in good faith call this recipe healthy ginger molasses cookies, I assure you that they are worth the splurge.

How to Store and Freeze These Cookies

To Store. Store leftover baked ginger molasses cookies in an airtight container at room temperature for 5 days, in the refrigerator for 7 days. To Freeze. Place cookies in an airtight freezer-safe storage container in the freezer for up to 3 months. To Make Ahead. Rolled, unbaked cookie dough balls can be frozen for up to 3 months. Allow to thaw in the refrigerator overnight, then bake as directed.

My favorite cookie sheet Parchment paper sheets (the pre-cut is totally worth it!) or silicone baking mats

Whether you are looking for the perfect soft ginger cookie to add to your tray, a treat to warm you on a winter night, or something to show Santa how much you’d really, really appreciate his support, these Chocolate Ginger Cookies truly hit the spot.

Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies - 33Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies - 77Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies - 13Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies - 1Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies - 27Chocolate Ginger Molasses Cookies - 94