Although I grew up watching Martha Stewart religiously with my Grammy, I’ve never internalized Martha’s passion for time-consuming flourishes. It’s admirable that Martha hand makes intricate origami valentine cards and festoons her four-layer Triple Chocolate Easter Cake with delicately spun sugar, but I’m more of a smear-the-icing-on-the-cake-and-hide-the-ugliest-part-in-the-back kind of gal. I’m not proud; I’m not ashamed. It’s just me. Thus, when I spotted a recipe for homemade heart-shaped Crunch bars in Martha Stewart Living, I surprised myself the most when I immediately stuck the page under Ben’s nose with an emphatic, “I have to make these.” While Martha’s recipe called for sautéed Israeli couscous, I went for easy, accessible, always-on-hand quinoa. Rather than adding uncooked quinoa directly to the chocolate, which I worried would be tooth-cracking hard, I started by puffing the quinoa on the stove. Puffing the quinoa grains causes them to expand slightly, making them pleasant to munch, and they take on a toasty flavor and light, satisfying crunch (like these equally-giftable Honey Roasted Cashews). When mixed with bittersweet chocolate, you’re left with a lovely contrast of flavors and textures that reminds me of a grown-up homemade Crunch bar (or a more decadent version of these Healthy No Bake Cookies).

How to Make Chocolate Quinoa Bark

Made with just two ingredients, this chocolate quinoa bark is perfect for personal snacking or gifting to someone special (these Red Wine Truffles are another great gift idea)

The Ingredients

Quinoa. Beyond its nutritional benefits, what I love about using protein-packed quinoa in this homemade chocolate bark is that it will last for weeks if stored AND it’s completely gluten free and vegan (if you use dairy-free chocolate) so just about anyone can enjoy this tasty treat.Chocolate. For the chocolate, use a good-quality brand that you enjoy eating on its own (or for these Chocolate Peppermint Covered Pretzels). I recommend something in the 60-65% range for best results.

The Directions

Tools Used to Make This Recipe

Heart-Shaped Cookie Cutters. Or any shape of your choice.Parchment Paper. Helps prevent the chocolate from sticking and makes clean-up a breezeHalf Sheet Pan. This one is my everyday all-purpose sheet pan.

Martha Stewart, will you be my Valentine?

Non-stick skillets do best over medium-high heat.Stainless steel works best over medium.

Test the Temperature. To test, sprinkle a few grains of quinoa into the pan when you feel it’s at the proper temperature. If the quinoa “pops” as soon as it hits the hot surface of the pan, it’s time to puff!

More Heart-Shaped Treats

Banana Oatmeal PancakesPerfect Cream Cheese Sugar CookiesChocolate Heart Sandwich CookiesHeart Shaped Strawberry Hand Pies

 

Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 18Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 56Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 6Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 73Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 80Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 77Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 37Chocolate Quinoa Bark  Two Ingredients     WellPlated com - 78