Although my Grammy stopped hiding Easter eggs years ago, to the great appreciation (and relief) of her family members, she has maintained the role of Easter Bunny. Each year, she leaves a selection of candy beside our plates at Easter dinner, and we walk away with enough chocolate Easter eggs to satisfy our sweet teeth for weeks. Today, I’m stepping in for the Easter Bunny (and Grammy) by delivering an Easter cake that will please chocolate lovers of all tribes. Whether you are a dark, milk, or white chocolate devotee, this triple chocolate Easter cake will have you polishing your plate while wishing you’d cut yourself a larger piece.

About This Chocolate Easter Cake

Two layers of moist, decadent dark chocolate cake, slathered with fluffy white chocolate buttercream, and topped with milk chocolate truffle eggs, this triple chocolate cake would have even the Easter Bunny licking his paws. The cake crumb is tender and fudgy, the layers tall and proud, and the presentation beautiful. It’s everything I could ask for in my chocolate cake, with extra chocolate on top!

The most essential component to baking a chocolate cake that will wow the crowd is the quality of the chocolate itself. I used Lindt EXCELLENCE 70% Cocoa Dark Chocolate for the chocolate cake layers and Lindt CLASSIC RECIPE White Chocolate for the white chocolate buttercream frosting. Both taste outstanding, are ideal for baking, and give the cake a rich, pure chocolate flavor.

I’m usually more of a cake-over-frosting kind of girl, but this white chocolate buttercream is an exception. Its creamy, light flavor delicately enhances the dark chocolate cake layers, so don’t be afraid to pile it on thick. To give the triple chocolate cake a festive Easter look, I sprinkled coconut on top in the shape of a nest, then arranged Lindt LINDOR milk chocolate truffle mini eggs in the center. Since I typically gravitate towards dark chocolate, this was my first time trying the milk chocolate eggs. Oh. My. Word. I didn’t think I liked milk chocolate, but it turns out, I’ve just been eating the wrong kind. The milk chocolate truffle eggs are melt-in-your-mouth creamy without being overly sweet, and I haven’t been able to keep my hand out of the bag.

For a final chocolate touch (because why go for chocolate three ways when we can squeeze in a fourth?), I nestled a Lindt GOLD BUNNY beside the cake. My Grammy always places a few of these iconic chocolates at our Easter table, and they are a fun way to make this Easter cake even more festive. If you are not yet convinced to bake this triple chocolate Easter cake, I have one final endorsement. My sister and baby niece came to visit over the weekend, and when my sister came to the painful realization that she wouldn’t be able to carry a slice of the cake onto the plane with her (apparently extra diapers take luggage priority), she reached a fork into the fridge and took one last large, wistful bite…at 7:45 a.m. as we rushed to the airport!

More Dessert Recipes Perfect for Easter

Gluten Free Carrot Cake Strawberry Cake Coconut Flour Cake Lemon Poke Cake Greek Yogurt Cheesecake Lemon Layer Cake with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting

Tools Used to Make This Recipe

8 inch round cake pans Off set icing spatula (I also have my eye on this set of three)

I am sharing this post in partnership with Lindt. As always, all opinions are my own. Thank you for supporting the brands and companies that make it possible for me to continue providing high quality content to you!

Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 18Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 89Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 40Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 80Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 96Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 72Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 53Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 6Easter Cake  With White Chocolate Frosting     WellPlated com - 80