One of my favorite ways to incorporate veggies into recipes is to use them as a vehicle for various toppings. Eggplant is a great option for this, because it makes a pretty neutral base that can mold into whatever flavor profile you add to it. Low carb eggplant pizza, anyone? These cute mini eggplant pizzas are such a delicious way to enjoy eggplant. Not only are they low carb and gluten-free, they’re also a mouthwatering dish that packs your life with veggies. (And, in my case, one that packs my daughter with veggies.)

Julia Child’s Mini Eggplant Pizzas

As far as I know, Julia Child was the first one to make mini eggplant pizzas. And I have to say, what a genius idea! It’s almost a little surprising, since her cooking was overall far from low carb. I’m certainly glad she came up with these. The part that comes as no surprise is how versatile a low carb eggplant pizza recipe can be. I wonder how Julia would have served them? Would they be the main dish for dinner? Or did she mainly offer them as appetizers? I like them both ways. No matter what meal you’re making them for, you’ll be happy to know you can prep your roasted eggplant pizza ahead of time. (What can I say? I’m a planner.) You can never have enough quick and easy low carb recipes that you can make in advance. And, mini eggplant pizzas totally fit the bill. Simply complete all the steps ahead of time. When you’re ready to serve them, you can place them in the oven to heat the pizza and melt the cheese.

How To Make Eggplant Pizza Faster

I’m always looking for an excuse to use new things as low carb pizza crust options. It was only a matter of time before I experimented with eggplant pizza crust. I thought about shredding it and making a crust that way, but using slices is the simpler option. Naturally, I chose the easy way. When it comes to food, only one thing rivals my love for pizza. It’s my obsession with making every recipe easier and faster! So, how to make eggplant pizza in as little time as possible? Bump up the oven temperature! This is where my version diverges from the Julia Child eggplant pizza recipe, but I promise it’s still just as delicious. Here’s what you do… Start by brushing your eggplant slices with olive oil, and sprinkling with salt and pepper. Then, you can roast the eggplant at 450 degrees Fahrenheit. This is a higher temp than other eggplant pizza recipes, making the roasting step take just fifteen minutes in the oven. Once the eggplant is soft and browned, add your toppings and return to the oven under the broiler. This will melt and brown the cheese very quickly. Let’s recap: high temp roasting, quickly add toppings, and broil. Super quick and totally easy. That means dinner (or whatever meal) is on the table faster. Who would say no to that?

More Low Carb Pizza Recipes

Keto Fathead Pizza Portobello Mushroom Pizza Cauliflower Pizza Crust Jalapeno Popper Pizza Zucchini Pizza Crust Mediterranean Eggplant Pizzas found in The Wholesome Yum Easy Keto Cookbook

Baking Sheet – This baking sheet is my go-to pan to use in the kitchen. You will love it. Parchment Paper – Be sure to line your pan with parchment paper so clean-up is easy after making these mini keto pizzas.

  Share your recipe picture by tagging @wholesomeyum and hashtag it #wholesomeyum on Instagram, or in our Facebook support group, too - I’d love to see it!