Now, before I go on and tell you why of all the fruit flag cake recipes in the universe you should make this particular flag cake, let me clear up one tiny point: I did not invent flag cake. While I aspire to that level of culinary adorableness, I’ve never been particularly adept at fancy desserts or anything bordering on “theme” food. Dear future parents of my hypothetical children’s classmates: please do not judge my children for their mother’s pitiful lack of décor at their birthday parties. The party may not have a theme, a cake in the shape of a dinosaur or Disney princess, or any semblance of order, but we will have sangria. I trust you can forgive. Or maybe we’ll have Flag Cake, because SO CUTE. And so delicious. And so, so easy. “Fourth of July” is an acceptable party theme for ages 1 to 17, is it not? Or, here is an even better idea: let’s all make Flag Cake for the actual Fourth of July! Although I’ve seen dozens of different recipes for Flag Cake—Jello, poke, and Cool Whip being three of the most common descriptors—every one of them seemed too heavy or even artificial to be a worthy sweet finale to a special summer barbecue. Maybe I walked by this shirt too many times at Target, or maybe I have some culinary cuteness buried inside of me after all, but I became fixated on the idea of coming up with a healthier Flag Cake recipe. I craved a better cake than what Pinterest promised. I wanted it to be made from wholesome ingredients, and I wanted it to taste rich and indulgent enough to be a true crowd pleaser no matter where I served it.

About This Flag Cake

After a few recipe attempts, this Flag Cake recipe is where I landed. The fluffy yellow sheet cake base is made with whole wheat flour and sweetened with honey, and part of the butter has been swapped for Greek yogurt. The cream cheese frosting includes Greek yogurt also and isn’t overpoweringly sweet so that the flavor of the fresh berries can shine. The Flag Cake is still on decadent side (I kept enough butter and sugar to make it taste like a real cake and not a flag muffin), but in comparison to most other flag cake recipes you’ll find, it leaves you the most wiggle room to serve yourself an extra-large slice, thank goodness. Extra large is the size you are going to want! With its no-fuss sheet cake style, this Flag Cake is ideal for transporting to parties and slicing to serve a crowd. After diving into a piece of the cake myself, I gave a generous serving to our painter. I thought he’d take it home, but he stood in my kitchen and quietly inhaled the entire thing in approximately 30 seconds. The rest of the Flag Cake was gifted to friends who had company in town to enjoy it and who are accustomed enough to my blog leftovers not to mind a missing slice or two. They immediately texted to say the cake had been a hit and could I please send them the recipe early. No one suspected this Flag Cake had been lightened up, and I guaranteed your party won’t either!

Make Ahead and Storage Tips

To Make Ahead. Cake can be made 1 day in advance, covered tightly at room temperature, and then frosted before serving. Frosting can also be made 1 day ahead of time and stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Let come to room temperature for easier frosting of the cake.To Store. Store leftovers in the refrigerator, tightly covered, for up to 3 days.To Freeze. You can also remove the fruit and store for up to 5 days in the refrigerator or freeze for up to 3 months.

Baker’s half sheet pan (my favorite pan ever!)Offset spatula (ideal for smoothing both the cake batter and frosting) Flag Cake   WellPlated com - 35Flag Cake   WellPlated com - 80Flag Cake   WellPlated com - 36Flag Cake   WellPlated com - 18Flag Cake   WellPlated com - 97Flag Cake   WellPlated com - 74