A classic and filling barley soup with kielbasa sausage! Comfort food at its best!

40 minutes simmering on the stove and our soup was ready. Only my childhood years, where comfort food magically appeared in front of me every time I was sick, could be better! (Thanks, grandma!)

But guys, please don’t think I’m foolish. I know damn well why Tim loved this soup so much.  The Hillshire Farm® Polska Kielbasa. I mean, he would be happy with just eating the straight out of the packaging. I can’t tell you how many times we had “fights” because he ate the sausage I bought thinking of a recipe. Good thing I have a Walmart just down the hill and I can send him for some more whenever that happens.  Thankfully, I now got into the habit of just buying more than what I need. Especially now with the colder weather, there’s no recipe that wouldn’t benefit with the addition of this delicious sausage. If I’m short on time, or forgot to think of dinner (mostly because I spent all day working on a dessert for the blog, for example), I just slice the Hillshire Farm Polska Kielbasa and sauté with onions until everything is perfectly browned. Then we use it for sandwiches or we eat it with rice! Along with a bottle of cold beer, of course. This post is Oktoberfest themed, after all! ?

The barley and the sausage really make this soup very filling and a meal on its own.  If you haven’t had the chance – or the time – to attend an Oktoberfest celebration this year, just make this soup and it’ll be as if you were there in Munich!  Guten Appetit!

 

German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 21German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 42German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 28German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 44German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 25German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 56German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 49German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 19German Sausage and Barley Soup  Graupensuppe  - 67