Although I was happy to leave many aspects of grade school behind (Presidential Fitness Test, I am looking at you), I do truly miss the anticipation and activities leading up to holidays like Halloween. Between the orange and black bulletin boards, ghost-oriented math problems, and repeated announcements about costumes that were NOT appropriate to wear at school, by the time Halloween arrived, I was ready. Now, it feels like holidays sneak up on me. Worse yet, the preparation for holidays, once a reason for joy, become a source of stress.

About These Delicious Halloween Treats

These silly ghost and mummy banana popsicles want you to take a break and remember the fun of Halloween. You can connect with your inner kid AND feel like a responsible adult who’s choosing to make healthy Halloween snacks, instead of (or at least as a supplement to) busting out the candy bowl.

If these Halloween banana popsicles feel too complicated, FEAR NOT. I am quite possibly the least crafty person that I know, and I still managed to make identifiable ghosts and mummies. The only difficult step in these banana popsicles being patient while they freeze! Since I was going for a healthy Halloween snack option, instead of dipping the banana popsicles in white chocolate, I used lightly sweetened vanilla Greek yogurt. It worked beautifully, and the banana popsicles, while healthy enough to pass for a snack, were still sweet enough to serve as a light dessert.

More Halloween Recipes

Graveyard Chocolate Cheesecake DipHalloween SangriaHalloween Chex Party MixCandy Bar Cookies

Now that I have the healthy Halloween snacks under control (urgent issue #1, resolved), I can turn my attention from the banana popsicles to urgent issue #2: WHAT should my costume be? Any suggestions welcome!

Parchment paper (these precut sheets are fantastic too)All-purpose rimmed baking sheetPopsicle sticks

 

Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 63Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 4Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 97Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 81Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 3Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 79Halloween Banana Popsicles  Healthy and Fun     WellPlated com - 57