I’ve lost count of the number of times I’ve made this crock pot recipe for shredded buffalo chicken with Greek yogurt sauce since I first shared it last year. In a direct match up between our frequency of eating it and the number of plaid shirts in my closet (my other fall uniform), I might even give it to the healthy buffalo chicken. If you’ve hung out with me September through March, you know this is not a light statement. I own A LOT of plaid and somehow keep finding a need to purchase more. A few weeks ago, two of our friends asked me to estimate the number of plaid shirts in my closet. I guessed seven, then went home and counted. Um, I forgot a few. Also, do dresses count? Please say no, because I kind of have my eye on this one. It would be so cute with boots! OK, enough with buffalo check. Let’s get to the buffalo chicken recipe!

Healthy Buffalo Chicken

This Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken recipe is one of a handful of healthy crock pot chicken recipes on my site that I make over and over. Ben loves it, I love it, it’s beyond easy, and despite its decadent taste, it’s low calorie too. Whether you need a low-maintenance weeknight meal or a healthy reset after a particularly indulgent weekend, this Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken hits the spot every time.

Why I Love These Buffalo Chicken Sweet Potatoes

I stole the idea to pair buffalo chicken with sweet potatoes from a friend who ordered a side of buffalo dipping sauce with her sweet potato fries at dinner. At first, I thought it sounded odd, but the combination of the spicy buffalo sauce with the sweetness of the potatoes was addictive. I knew I had to try it at home. Although I’m no stranger to having fries for dinner, I wanted this slow cooker buffalo chicken to fit a healthy weeknight dinner theme, so I served the shredded chicken over baked sweet potatoes instead. Dynamite! The baked sweet potatoes gave me the sweet-spicy flavor pairing that I was after but in a lighter, healthier way. They also provide a built-in serving of (unfried) veg. Or if you’re set on sweet potato fries, try these baked Sweet Potato Fries, Air Fryer Sweet Potato Fries, or Sweet Potato Wedges. For maximum simplicity, I made the buffalo chicken in the slow cooker. I poured the buffalo sauce right over the top, and by the time the chicken was ready, it was fall-apart tender. The final flourish is a blue cheese–Greek yogurt drizzle. If you aren’t into blue cheese, we can’t be friends you can swap for feta cheese or omit the blue cheese completely. These Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sweet Potatoes will still be delicious without it. In addition to being a tasty weeknight dinner, the healthy Buffalo chicken stuffed sweet potatoes are also easy to multiply for a crowd. If you have any game watches or football parties on your agenda—events for which the presence of buffalo chicken teeters between “strongly encouraged” and “mandatory”—this recipe is a great way to feed the hungry hoards while leaving a little extra wiggle room in your diet too.

More Buffalo Chicken Recipes

Buffalo Chicken Stuffed PeppersSlow Cooker Buffalo Chicken MeatballsSlow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Taquitos Buffalo Chicken Pizza

6-quart programmable slow cooker Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes Recipe - 99Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes Recipe - 70Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes Recipe - 47Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes Recipe - 21Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes Recipe - 13Healthy Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Stuffed Sweet Potatoes Recipe - 66