This easy vegan pumpkin soup cooks in a single pot and carries deep flavor notes of Thai curry, coconut, and peanut. It’s healthy, happens to be gluten and dairy free, and is also ready in 30 minutes flat, thanks to the use of a super speedy shortcut ingredient, canned pumpkin. Between friends, I’ve had the idea for a spiced Thai Pumpkin Curry Soup floating about in my brain for a long while but avoided it for two reasons. One, I was worried that the only way to make a richly flavored, satisfying pumpkin soup was to roast an actual, whole pumpkin. I had visions of an enormous, Cinderella-sized squash becoming lodged in my oven, breaking a sweat while attempting to slice it, and stringy pumpkin goo coating every surface of my kitchen. Nightmare. Two, I felt that if I avoided the above scenario by using canned pumpkin instead of a whole, fresh pumpkin, I was somehow cheating.

I’m not sure where I got the idea that making pumpkin soup with canned pumpkin is cheating—after all, I use it for Healthy Pumpkin Bread, Pumpkin French Toast, Pumpkin Energy Balls, and every single one of these pumpkin recipes without blinking—but it took a night of hungry desperation to set me straight. It was 7:45 p.m., and I was staring down a butternut squash, willing it to peel, dice, and puree itself for soup. Not surprisingly, the squash did not grant my request. WHY, I wondered, does squash not come already prepped, pureed, and in a convenient can so that I can make myself soup in a hurry? I think you know where this is going. DUH. Canned pumpkin. You are the answer to my weeknight soup prayers! (I even used it again in this Vegan Pumpkin Soup and this Pumpkin Chili.) Although pumpkin’s flavor profile is a little different than butternut squash’s, the two share many of the same characteristics. If you are a fan of butternut squash soup (especially this Butternut Squash Apple Soup), I’m betting you’ll love this vegan Pumpkin Curry Soup too.

Since canned pumpkin is fairly bland on its own, I added plenty of rich flavors to make this soup interesting and delicious. Thai red curry paste does 90% of the lifting. It’s one of my favorite pantry ingredients. With just a few tablespoonfuls, you can infuse a whopping amount of flavor into all kinds of savory recipes. It’s available in the Asian food aisle of almost any grocery store (even Target carries it) or online. If you’ve never had it, it’s more sweet and robust than spicy hot. If you are feeling hesitant, you can always start with a little, then build to taste. Taking inspiration from my favorite Chicken Stir Fry with Thai Peanut Sauce, I added a little peanut butter to make the soup extra creamy and filling (to make the Pumpkin Curry Soup Paleo or peanut free, swap almond butter), fresh ginger to wake it up, and coconut milk to make it silky. The recipe is flexible, so feel free to adjust the spices to suit your individual taste.

In other pumpkin news, I plan to (finally) pick up a few pumpkins from the big bin at the grocery store to decorate my porch later this week. They might not be fresh from the patch, but as this Pumpkin Curry Soup can attest, there’s no harm in a little shortcut every now and then.

What Should I Serve with Pumpkin Soup?

Bread. The ultimate soup side! Serve a loaf from your local bakery or try this Rosemary Olive Oil Bread. Veggies. For a healthy meal, pair this soup with a side of Roasted Zucchini. Salad. Serve this soup with a simple and fresh salad like this Anytime Arugula Salad.

More Easy Pumpkin Dinner Recipes

Instant Pot Paleo Chili Pumpkin Pasta Sauce Vegan Pumpkin Soup Pumpkin Mac and Cheese

Dutch oven: I own and love this one. This is another excellent, affordable option. I also love this brand. Immersion blender If you love the idea of serving pumpkin soup inside a pumpkin but aren’t ready to go in for the whole squash, this looks like a perfect (and pretty!) solution.

 

Pumpkin Curry Soup - 10Pumpkin Curry Soup - 8Pumpkin Curry Soup - 16Pumpkin Curry Soup - 51Pumpkin Curry Soup - 83Pumpkin Curry Soup - 35Pumpkin Curry Soup - 78