These bacon cheese scones are fluffy on the inside, golden and lightly crisp at the edges, and if the words “bacon” and “cheddar” don’t cause you to hold your breath for a moment, then…well, I’m actually not sure I believe you.

About These Savory Scones

Whenever I travel, my favorite morning bites are often the warm pastries and bagels we pick up and eat at small cafe tables. Of all the treats behind the shiny bakery case, scones are one of my absolute favorites. They’re different enough from the standard morning muffin or bowl of oats to feel like a special treat yet retain an old-fashioned, homey comfort that I crave. If your only experience of a scone has been something akin to a hockey puck, I am begging you to give this savory scone recipe a try. Good scones (like these!) are fluffy like biscuits on the inside, with delightfully addictive, lightly crunchy edges that are a joy to pick apart with your fingers and munch. I honestly don’t know why so many scone recipes go awry, but I promise that as long as you keep your butter cold and don’t overwork the dough, you’ll have ethereal scone success and understand why they are worth your precious effort and appetite. Although most scones you’ll find are of the sweet and fruity variety, scone dough itself isn’t sweet at the outset. Essentially a slightly sturdier, extra buttery biscuit, scones perfect for adding any manner of mix-ins, including those of the savory variety. I had my first savory scone (gruyere, prosciutto, and herbs mmmmm) on our last trip to New York, and I’ve been smitten with scones of the savory variety since. Today’s bacon cheddar savory scones are my more “homestyle” version of the prosciutto/gruyere savory scone I tried that last NYC trip. If you prefer the bakery’s original, arguably more elevated combo, you can absolutely swap it here, but I promise this bacon cheddar version will not disappoint you. If you’re looking for a special baked treat, I hope you’ll give these Savory Scones with Bacon, Cheddar, and Chive a try. They don’t take too long to pull together first thing in the morning, but if you prefer to get a head start, scones are one of the easiest recipes to make in advance.

Prepare the scones right up until the point of baking, pop them in the freezer, then bake them directly from frozen whenever the craving strikes. They’ll taste just as fresh and fluffy as if you have make them from start to finish that morning.

Make Ahead and Storage Tips

To Store. Scones are best enjoyed the day they are made but can be individually wrapped and stored at room temperature for 2 days.To Freeze. Freeze leftover scones in an airtight storage container for up to 1 month.To Make Ahead. Unbaked scones can be frozen for up to 2 months. Make the batter and shape the scones on a baking sheet as outlined in Step 3. Place the baking sheet in your freezer. Once the scones have hardened, remove them from the sheet, wrap them individually in plastic, and pop them into a ziptop bag. When ready to eat, bake as directed, directly from frozen, adding a few minutes to the baking time as needed.

Cheese grater: a must for the butter and the cheese! My secret to perfect, FLUFFY scones is that I freeze the butter, then grate the stick right into the dry ingredients. It’s easier to incorporate that way too!Bench scraper. My favorite for portioning any dough, from bread to pie crust to scones to pizza. Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 94Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 45Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 33Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 92Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 55Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 5Savory Scones with Bacon Cheddar and Chive - 44