(This post is sponsored by Blue Apron.) It’s headcount time! Who survived the holidays? As you’ve probably noticed, not me. I haven’t posted anything since the middle of December and didn’t get to share all the amazing holiday recipes I had in mind with you guys… I somehow managed to get a stomach bug and couldn’t look at food for a long time. To be honest, still can’t, really! And nothing takes the joy of vivre out of a food blogger than not being able to cook or eat. For the past few weeks, I’ve survived mostly on saltines, while my poor husband had to resort to take out and frozen meals. Until I had the most brilliant idea!

I signed up for Blue Apron and got 3 meals delivered to us. They deliver the fresh, already measured ingredients with the recipes and all you have to do is put them together and enjoy it! Tim was beyond himself. Not only he wouldn’t have to eat pizza for the second day in a row, but he also got to cook? Best day of his life! ???

Of course, the meal he was most excited about was the one containing steak. (Sometimes I feel like I married a cave man…) The instructions were easy and pretty straight forward, but he did request some guidance, as he’s still a beginner in the kitchen. It ended up being the most fun we’ve had in a while and I got to teach him some basic cooking skills, like properly holding a chef’s knife and how to sauté. He (okay, we…as I was also in the kitchen) did get the potatoes to stick to the baking sheet and didn’t wait for the steak to rest before cutting it, but other than that, I’m happy to report that it went very well! I dare say my husband has a lot of potential! Maybe by the time we have kids, he’ll have a few recipes and skills up his sleeve, so I can go away on a spa weekend without fearing my family will die of hunger! ?

The results were fantastic and this Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce tasted like a fancy restaurant dish. Who knew just a handful of ingredients could come together into something so special? I wasn’t planning on eating any, but when he plated it so beautifully (with Blue Apron’s picture for guidance), I just couldn’t resist it. It ended up being my first real meal in almost a month, and I’m so glad I got to enjoy it! (Tim, on the other hand, was probably hoping I would stick to the saltines, so he would get both portions to himself! lol) If you, like me, are in need of a little cooking motivation, I highly recommend you give Blue Apron a shot. After all, who doesn’t like seasonally-inspired recipes that are always delicious, fun and easy to prepare? And, as an incentive for you to try it out, Blue Apron is giving my readers $30 off the first delivery OR 3 meals free on the first order. Seriously, take advantage of this! You won’t regret it!

CHECK OUT ANOTHER BLUE APRON MEAL (VIDEO BY HONEST COOKING):

   

Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 54Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 76Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 30Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 78Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 2Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 87Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 25Steak with Green Peppercorn Sauce - 70