Actually, let’s make that giant hugs, Taco Casserole, and a pitcher of Skinny Margaritas. Let the fun begin! This Taco Casserole recipe takes the core ingredients of any classic taco plate—beans, cheese, tortillas, juicy ground turkey (my healthy swap for beef; chicken would work well too), and a yummy array of toppings—and transforms them into an easy-to-make, even easier-to-eat layered taco bake. It’s like a baked Mexican lasagna. Except…I didn’t bake it. I slow cooker-ed it instead! Anytime you are feeding a crowd or need additional flexibility around when you’ll prep or serve your meal, the slow cooker is your BFF. Because I’m not sure exactly what time girls will arrive tonight, I love that I can make the Taco Casserole in advance, then keep it warm in the crock pot until they arrive.

3 Simple Steps to Healthy Taco Casserole

This Taco Casserole has three core components: the tortillas, the delicious meat-and-bean-filling, and the toppings: Part 1: The tortillas. I used whole wheat flour tortillas because they can hold up to longer cooking times, but if you need the recipe to be gluten free and don’t mind the tortillas breaking down a bit (still delicious), you can certainly use corn tortillas instead. Part 2: The filling. This is my favorite part! I used a mix of pinto and black beans, which makes the dish extra satisfying and provides a delightful contrast of flavors and textures. For even more taco satisfaction, I added ground turkey, fresh veggies, and a tasty array of Southwest spices. Oh, and cheese. You’ll find a gooey, stretchy layer of melty cheese between each tortilla. Part 3: The toppings! No self-respecting taco should be without a shower of your favorite toppings. I opted for avocado, cilantro, and a dollop of Greek yogurt, my go-to healthy swap for sour cream. Once you’ve cooked the filling, simply layer it with the tortillas in the slow cooker, lasagna style. Cover the crock pot, walk away, then return a few hours later to a warm, hearty, and healthy meal.

To the superstar meal preppers in the crowd: add this Taco Casserole recipe to your rotation. The filling can be cooked a day or two in advance, then layered with the tortillas and cheese right before cooking. Had I been more organized this week, that’s exactly what I would have done. When I think of the moments that define my year, our Girls’ Reunion is absolutely one of them. Last year, I hosted here in Milwaukee, and in years past, I’ve traveled to Nashville, Minneapolis, and South Bend. These women and I have been roommates, stood up in each others’ weddings, and held each other’s babies, and they supported me in my blog’s earliest days too. We also share a deep, fierce love for Tex-Mex. Every reunion so far has involved tacos in one form or another, so I’m sticking with tradition, Taco Casserole style.

More Delicious Tex-Mex Recipes

Chicken Tortilla Casserole Crock Pot Mexican Casserole Skinny Taco Salad Crock Pot Quinoa Stuffed Peppers

Slow Cooker. This one switches to “keep warm” to deter overcooking. Sharp Chef’s Knife. An indispensable kitchen tool for slicing, cutting, and chopping.

   

Taco Casserole  Healthy Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 54Taco Casserole  Healthy Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 40Taco Casserole  Healthy Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 33Taco Casserole  Healthy Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 83Taco Casserole  Healthy Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 77Taco Casserole  Healthy Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 46