I know. How did I get this job? In all seriousness, stuffing vegetables with all types of tasty fillings has become one of my favorite ways to use seasonal produce. It’s familiar territory worth visiting again and again.

Why I Love This Taco Spaghetti Squash

Stuffed vegetables are filling. This Taco Spaghetti Squash recipe offers a whopping 29 grams of protein and 6 grams of fiber per boat. I found about two-thirds of one stuffed spaghetti squash kept me full an entire afternoon, an impressive feat considering I am usually ready to eat an entire box of granola bars by 3 p.m.Stuffed vegetables can be adapted throughout the seasons. On my list this fall: Stuffed Butternut Squash with Quinoa and Cranberries and Spaghetti Squash Boats with Chicken and Bacon. Next summer? Italian-style Stuffed Zucchini, Spinach Artichoke Quinoa Stuffed Bell Peppers, and Crock Pot Stuffed Peppers.You’re getting an extra serving of veg without even trying. Looking to add one more serving of veggies to your day? This Taco Spaghetti Squash (and all stuffed veggie recipes) builds it in automatically.Clean up is minimal.Delicious factor is maximal.

I served these Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats to friends who concluded that 1) it was the best way they’d ever eaten spaghetti squash and 2) I must be on a mission to turn everything into a taco (the last meal I’d brought over to their house was a slow cooker taco casserole). I happily accept both compliments! The taco-inspired filling is spiced with chili powder, smoked paprika, and cumin. Ground turkey and black beans make it lean, healthy, and satisfying. It’s also easy to adapt. Feel free to mix in other veggies (I used red bell peppers, but green bell peppers, spinach, or even very finely chopped carrots would also work), swap the ground turkey for ground chicken, and adjust the level of spice to your liking.

Recipe Adaptations

To Make Dairy Free. To make the recipe dairy free, you can simply omit the cheese.To Make Vegetarian. Try replacing the turkey with a different type of beans (red kidney would be nice) or even crumbled tofu. If you use tofu, I’d recommend upping the spices to taste, since it can be a bit bland on its own.

More Spaghetti Squash Recipes

Spaghetti Squash CasseroleSpaghetti Squash Lasagna

Finally, in true taco style, don’t forget the fixins. We enjoyed ours with avocado, cilantro, and a big dollop of plain nonfat Greek yogurt, my healthy swap for sour cream.

Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats - 64Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats - 41Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats - 48Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats - 33Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats - 92Taco Spaghetti Squash Boats - 3