Plus, this recipe contains NO OIL. The pumpkin does 100% of the lifting to make it super soft and tender, no extra fat or added sugars required. The vegan pumpkin bread came to be a few weeks ago on an unexpectedly chilly morning. A crisp breeze ruffled the leaves in that particular way that belongs distinctly to autumn. I found a can of pumpkin in the pantry and took a poll on Instagram to see how many of you were ready for pumpkin recipes. The answer? BRING ON THE SQUASH. While I have dozens of healthy pumpkin recipes on my site both sweet and savory, pumpkin bread is what I crave first when pumpkin season arrives. I love the way it fills my house with warm scents of cinnamon and nutmeg, how fast and easy it is to make, and the way every bite wraps me up like the fuzzy plaid scarves waiting to emerge from my closet. Pumpkin bread recipes are also some of the simplest to make healthy and still taste fab. Pumpkin itself is rich in Vitamin A, Vitamin C, antioxidants, iron, and more. Plus, since pumpkin is naturally moist, you can easily bake pumpkin bread without needing to add extra fat. I also make pumpkin bread first for no other good reason than that I adore it, which is perhaps the best reason of all. It’s also probably the reason I have a cache of healthy pumpkin bread, all of which I love for uniquely delicious reasons: Paleo Pumpkin Bread (this one is gluten-free and beyond moist); Healthy Pumpkin Bread (the timeless classic); Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread (has oatmeal and made me everyone’s favorite co-worker in my last job); Pumpkin Banana Bread (best of both worlds)…and I’m not done yet. Especially when there’s this dairy free, oil free, refined sugar free scrumptiousness like this Vegan Pumpkin Bread to bake! As I mentioned, this vegan pumpkin bread is made without oil. Instead I used applesauce, and it worked like an absolute charm. Even if you aren’t vegan, I encourage you to try this healthy vegan pumpkin bread. It rises sky high and tastes like glorious fall days to come. I adapted the recipe from my favorite Vegan Pumpkin Muffins (which have glowing reviews). I can’t wait for you try it.

How to Make Vegan Pumpkin Bread

The Ingredients

PUMPKIN. The whole can! It makes this bread unbelievably moist and tender, no oil required.White Whole Wheat Flour. This pumpkin bread is 100% whole wheat like my Vegan Zucchini Bread, but thanks to the mild flavor of white whole wheat flour, you’ll never suspect it.

Pure Maple Syrup. Maple and pumpkin are fall flavor buddies! This recipe does not use sugar (the refined kind). Pure maple syrup is all you need. Note: do not use imitation maple syrup. It does not taste the same or perform the same in baking as pure (real) maple syrup.Flaxseed Meal. This omega-3 rich nutrient adds to the healthy factor of this vegan pumpkin bread and stands in for the eggs. (If you don’t need the bread to be vegan, you can use eggs instead.)Unsweetened Applesauce. Making this pumpkin bread with applesauce eliminates the need for oil. It would also be a delicious way to use this homemade crockpot applesauce.SPICES! Pumpkin on its own is actually pretty bland, so we need to spice it up. Pumpkin Pie Spice is a true time saver and worth adding to your pantry if you bake often. The one downfall is that it doesn’t have enough cinnamon in it (in my cinnamon-loving opinion), so I added some extra cinnamon to the recipe also.Pure Vanilla Extract. No resisting it.Unsweetened Almond Milk. Or any milk you like. If you are concerned with keeping the bread vegan/dairy free, be sure to use a dairy free option.Toppings and Mix-Ins. Feel free to top this pumpkin bread with chopped nuts, pumpkin seeds, or chocolate chips. It would also be delicious as a pumpkin cranberry bread. 

Given my love of pumpkin and chocolate together, I suspect that a chocolate chip vegan pumpkin bread is sure to follow later this fall.

The Directions

Another favorite feature of vegan pumpkin bread: it is SUPER easy to make!

How to Store Vegan Pumpkin Bread

To Store. Keep bread at room temperature according to this guide for How to Store Muffins and Quick Breads for up to 2 days. This bread is SUPER moist, and doesn’t last as long at room temperature. If you want it to last longer, I suggest placing it in the refrigerator for up to 4 days.To Freeze. Place vegan pumpkin bread in an airtight freezer safe storage container or ziptop bag for up to 3 months. I also love to wrap and freeze individual slices for quick pumpkin bread portions.

This is my absolute favorite loaf pan. (It comes in a 9×5-inch size also.)Obsessed with this spatula. It’s great for sautéing and mixing batter, and is super easy to clean and heatproof.

What are you most excited to bake this fall? I’d love to hear from you in the comments. And if you make this recipe, please let me know! Your enthusiasm and hearing you enjoy my recipes makes my day, every day ♥

Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 23Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 90Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 17Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 3Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 70Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 88Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 77Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 92Vegan Pumpkin Bread   No Oil  Super Moist  and Perfectly Spiced  - 93